sports gazette

MATCH PREVIEW: England Versus France

Published: 8 Nov 2016

England Women have not beaten France at home since 2013.

France and England square off at Twickenham Stoop on Wednesday night for the first match in the Women’s Old Mutual Wealth Series.

England’s Head Coach Simon Middleton told ScrumQueens: “This is a strong squad with a wealth of experience between them.”

Worcester’s Rochelle Clark is hoping to gain her 114th cap and equal Jason Leonard as England’s most capped international. She is currently two caps behind Scotland’s Donna Kennedy, the current women’s world-record holder.

Several Olympians are returning from Sevens service in Rio including Claire Allan (Saracens), Natasha Hunt (Lichfield), Katy Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks) and Danielle Waterman (Bristol).

Notably absent from the line up is Team GB captain Emily Scarratt, who is suffering from a concussion and Bristol’s Amber Reed out with an ankle injury.

This is the third time the two sides have faced each other this year. France denied England the Grand Slam title on home turf at Stade de la Rabine, Vannes with a 17-12 victory. The Red Roses returned the favour in Salt Lake City with a 17-13 scoreline at the Women's Rugby Super Series.

Kick off is at 7:30pm and the match is live on Sky Sports 1HD.


15 Danielle Waterman (Bristol, 60 caps)
14 Kay Wilson (Richmond, 36 caps)
13 Claire Allan (Saracens, 32 caps)
12 Rachael Burford (Aylesford Bulls, 56 caps)
11 Fiona Pocock (Aylesford Bulls, 29 caps)
10 Katy Mclean (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 77 caps)
9 Natasha Hunt (Lichfield, 29 caps)

1 Vickii Cornborough (Aylesford Bulls, 17 caps)
2 Amy Cokayne (Lichfield, 16 caps)
3 Laura Keates (Worcester Valkyries, 52 caps)
4 Tamara Taylor (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 94 caps)
5 Emily Braund (Lichfield, 23 caps)
6 Alex Matthews (Richmond, 24 caps)
7 Marlie Packer (Bristol, 36 caps)
8 Sarah Hunter (Bristol, 81 caps) (c)

16 Vicky Fleetwood (Saracens, 51 caps)
17 Rochelle Clark (Worcester Valkyries, 113 caps)
18 Sarah Bern (Bristol, 2 caps)
19 Harriet Millar-Mills (Lichfield, 34 caps)
20 Izzy Noel-Smith (Bristol, 20 caps)
21 La Toya Mason (Darlington Mowden Park Sharks, 56 caps)
22 Emily Scott (Saracens, 12 caps)
23 Ceri Large (Worcester Valkyries, 50 caps)


15. Caroline Ladagnous (Bobigny)
14. Camille Grassineau (FFR)
13. Rose Thomas (Bordeaux)
12. Lucille Godiveau (Bobigny)
11. Elodie Guiglion (FFR)
10. Christelle Le Duff (Stade Olympique Villelonguet)
9. Yanna Rivoalen (Lille Métropole Rugby Club Villeneuvois)

1. Lise Arricastre (Lons Rugby féminin Béarn Pyrénées)
2. Manon Bigot (Blagnac-Saint Orens Rugby féminin)
3. Patricia Carricaburu (Lons Rugby féminin Béarn Pyrénées)
4. Celine Ferer (AS Bayonne)
5. Manon Andre (Blagnac-Saint Orens Rugby féminin)
6. Pauline Rayssac (Montpellier)
7. Laetitia Grand (Lons Rugby féminin Béarn Pyrénées)
8. Safi N’diaye (Montpellier)

16. Gaëlle Mignot (Montpellier)
17. Annaëlle Deshayes (Ovalie Caennaise)
18. Lenaïg Corson (Rennes)
19. Gaëlle Hermet (Stade Toulousain Rugby Féminin)
20. Romane Menager (Lille Métropole Rugby Club Villeneuvois)
21. Camille Cabalou (AS Bayonne)
22. Carla Neisen (Blagnac-Saint Orens Rugby féminin)
23. Julie Duval (Ovalie Caennaise

^ Back to top ^