sports gazette

Sporting Legends to judge 15th Cross Sports Book Awards

Published: 30 Mar 2017

An elite collection of legends from the world of sport and sports journalism will adjudicate the 15th Cross Sports Book Awards, including Rowing Olympic Gold medallist; Dame Katherine Grainger, English Rugby World Cup winning Captain; Martin Johnson and Racing’s National Hunt Champion trainer; Paul Nicholls.

The Cross Sports Autobiography of the year award panel of judges chaired by, the winner from 2011, former England hooker; Brian Moore, will also feature Alison Kervin; sports editor of the Mail On Sunday, England and Middlesex batsman; Nick Compton and Guillem Balague, Sky Sports La Liga pundit, also a winner at last year's event for his Biography of Cristiano Ronaldo. 

The elite panel will be reviewing the most compelling autobiographies from the previous year, with the books covering a wide range of sporting achievements from names such as; Damon Hill, Laura Trott & Jason Kenny, and Jamie Vardy.

Katherine Grainger, who is part of the best autobiography panel of judges for the first time said: “I’m thrilled to be a part of the Cross Sports Book Awards for the first time this year. It’s a fantastic campaign and ceremony. I am looking forward to sharing my thoughts with a stellar group of sporting stars and journalists.”

The six judges will now have the tough decision of cutting down the 12 books to form the shortlist. The Autobiography shortlist will be announced during late March, with all 8 other award category shortlists being revealed later, on 26th April.

Other awards include the cycling book of the year; presided over by Cyclist; David Millar, and broadcasters; Simon Brotherton and Jill Douglas.

Bob Willis, Paul Allot and Isa Guha will judge the Cricket Book of the Year, along with a host of other former sportsmen and broadcasters.

David Willis, Chairman of the Cross Sports Book Awards added: “I am delighted to see that we have secured such a well-respected group of judges to help us celebrate 15 years of the book awards. Our esteemed panels now have an extremely difficult task to choose their winners to be announced at our awards dinner on 24th May at Lord's the Home of Cricket"

Categories at the 2017 Cross Sports Book Awards include:
Cross Autobiography of the Year
The Times Biography of the Year
Specsavers Football Writers’ Book of the Year
Cycling Book of the Year
Cricket Book of the Year
Arbuthnot Latham Rugby Book of the Year
Thomson Reuters Illustrated Book of the Year
Freshtime New Writer of the year
International Autobiography of the Year
The Outstanding Contribution to Sports Writing Award

The winner will be announced at the Cross Sports Book Awards ceremony, which celebrate their 15th anniversary and, will take place at Lord’s on 24th May 2017.

^ Back to top ^