sports gazette

Damon Hill leads short list for the 2017 Cross Sports Autobiography of the Year

The Nominees: Joey Barton, Damon Hill, Jo Pavey, Greg Rutherford, Jonathan Trott, Ian Wright
Published: 19 Apr 2017

Following months of reading, a select panel of judges have shortlisted former Formula One champion Damon Hill, former Ashes winner and England cricketer Jonathan Trott, long distance Olympic runner Jo Pavey, Arsenal and England football legend Ian Wright, the ever-controversial footballer Joey Barton and London 2012 Olympic long jump gold medallist Greg Rutherford, for the 2017 award. 

Sponsored by A.T. Cross, the Autobiography of the Year award celebrates and promotes the best memoirs from the previous twelve months.

This year's panel of judges for the prestigious best autobiography award include former England rugby star Brian Moore, Olympic rowing gold medallist Dame Katherine Grainger, National Hunt champion jockey trainer Paul Nicholls, Sky Sports La Liga pundit Guillem Balague, sports editor of the Mail on Sunday Alison Kervin and Middlesex and England cricketer Nick Compton.    

The 2017 event is the 15th annual awards campaign, with previous winners including huge names such as Nasser Hussain, Bobby Charlton, and Andre Agassi.

David Willis Chairman of the Sports Book Awards said: "Once again we have a great group of nominees in what is always a hugely competitive category. We look forward to seeing who our 2017 winner is at Lord's in May as we celebrate 15 years of the Sports Book Awards."

Damon Hill, one of the six nominees for the award, is overjoyed to be surrounded by sporting greats across football, athletics, and cricket.

He said: "It’s an honour to be included in the shortlist for the 2017 Cross Sports Book Awards, and I am delighted to be nominated alongside a talented group of sportsmen and women."

The 15th Cross Sports Book Awards will take place at Lord's Cricket Ground on the evening of May 24th and will be hosted by Sky Sports News host Mike Wedderburn and Test Match Special's Alison Mitchell.

The shortlist for the Cross Autobiography of the Year award:
No Nonsense by Joey Barton (Simon & Schuster)
Watching the Wheels by Damon Hill (Macmillan) 
This Mum Runs by Jo Pavey (Yellow Jersey, PRH)
Unexpected by Greg Rutherford (Simon & Schuster)
Unguarded by Jonathan Trott (Sphere, Little Brown) 
A Life in Football by Ian Wright (Constable, Little Brown)

^ Back to top ^