Sports Gazette

by sports journalism students at St Mary's University, London

London Football Awards 2020: Tammy Abraham takes home two awards

Posted on 9 March 2020 by Callum Room

By Callum Room & Hal Fish

Some of football’s biggest stars celebrated the London Football Awards last week at the Roundhouse in Camden. The evening supported ex-Arsenal goalkeeper Bob Wilson’s charity Willow, which provides Special Days for seriously ill young adults aged 16-40 across the UK.

The Sports Gazette spoke to the recipients of the awards as well as many former London based players and managers who came to support the event.

Interviews at: 0:09-1.18 – Bob Wilson Discussing the Willow Foundation.

1:22-2:44 – David Seaman & Alan Smith discussing Mikel Arteta & Arsenal youngsters.

2:45-3:56 – George Graham & Gary Mabbutt discussing Jose Mourinho and Eric Dier.

4:04-4:30 – Rachel Yankey OBE discussing Arsenal women’s team.

4:30-4:55 – Les Ferdinand discussing his award.

4:56-5:18- Ben Foster discussing Watford’s survival chances.

5:19-6:20 Ollie Watkins discussing Brentford and a dream move to Arsenal.

6:20 onwards Carlton Cole and Marlon Harewood discussing West Ham.

The Winners!

Men’s Player of the Year: Tammy Abraham

Young Player of the Year: Tammy Abraham 

Abraham claimed both the Men’s Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year award beating the likes of Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Heung-Min Son, Mason Mount, and Gabriel Martinelli to each accolade.  Abraham dedicated his win to the Chelsea Acadamy during his acceptance speech.

Goalkeeper of the Year: Ben Foster  

The Watford shot-stopper claimed the Goalkeeper of the Year Award, making it two wins in a row for Foster.

Manager of the Year: Thomas Frank 

As Brentford’s push for Premier League football continues, the man behind the club’s impressive final season at Griffon Park was recognised as the best manager this year.

Women’s Player of the Year: Vivianne Miedema 

Miedema picked up the award for the second year running following another prolific year at Arsenal. Unfortunately, she could not be in attendance as she is currently away on international duty with Holland.

EFL Player of the Year: Ollie Watkins

For the second year running, a Brentford forward took home the EFL Player of the Year award. This time it was Watkin’s who followed the footsteps of his former Brentford teammate Neil Maupay.

Goal of the season: Heung-Min Son

Son’s incredible solo effort against Burnley saw him rightly awarded with this year’s goal of the season award. This was the only award that was open to a public vote.

Outstanding Contribution to London Football award: Les Ferdinand

Les Ferdinand was also the recipient of the Outstanding Contribution to London Football award. The Queens Park Rangers and Tottenham Hotspur legend joined the likes of Glenn Hoddle, Ian Wright, Frank Lampard, John Terry and Arsene Wenger in claiming the award.

Community Project of the Year: Palace for Life Foundation – Divert Programme.

The FA ‘For All’ Award: Middlesex FA – Really Real.