Sports Gazette

by sports journalism students at St Mary's University, London

The Best FIFA Football Award

Posted on 21 October 2017 by Louis Olvera

The Best FIFA Football Awards will be staged in London’s Palladium Theatre this year on 23rd October . Football’s biggest names will be present in the hope of winning football’s most prestigious awards. The main headliner will be the men’s player award. Cristiano Ronaldo, who won the inaugural award last year, is a favourite to claim the honour after helping Real Madrid to a third Champions League title in four seasons and a first La Liga title in five years, as well as the FIFA Club World Cup.

The Portugal captain scored twice as Madrid beat Juventus 4-1 in the Champions League final, while also finishing top scorer in the competition with 12 goals.

Ronaldo’s long time rival for individual awards Lionel Messi also has a claim to “The Best” title. The Argentinian finished as La Liga’s top scorer with 37 goals — 12 ahead of Ronaldo — and helped Barcelona to Copa del Rey success in what was a largely disappointing season for the club.

The third candidate is Neymar, who finished third in the 2015 Ballon d’Or voting. The Brazil forward became the world’s most expensive player this summer when he left Barcelona for Paris Saint-Germain in a €222 million deal.

The ceremony is adding new categories this year as well. Here is a list of all the awards and the nominees:

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Deyna Castellanos (Venezuela U-17), Carli Lloyd (Manchester City/USA), and Lieke Martens (FC Rosengard & FC Barcelona/Netherlands)
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Massimiliano Allegri (Juventus), Antonio Conte (Chelsea), and Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Nils Nielsen (Denmark), Gerard Precheur (Olympique Lyonnais), and Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)
  • The Best FIFA Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus/Italy), Keylor Navas (Real Madrid/ Costa Rica), and Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich/Germany)
  • Puskás Award: Deyna Castellanos (Venezuela U-17), Olivier Giroud (Arsenal/France), and Oscarine Masuluke (Baroka/South Africa)
  • The Fan Award: Borussia Dortmund supporters, Celtic supporters, and FC Copenhagen supporters
  • The FIFA Fair Play Award & FIFPro XI award winners will be revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards show.
Featured Image: FIFA